A short update

July2013

July 1, 2013. I’m wearing a football t-shirt because clear eyes, full hearts, can’t lose.

I was hoping to write an extensive post detailing the results of the plan I followed June 3 to July 3–what worked well, what didn’t work so well, etc.–but I’m about to go on holidays, so that will have to wait until later this month.

Right now, I’ll update you specifically on the numbers. In a little over one month, I lost 24 pounds: 12.6 the first week, 2.6 the second week, 2.4 the third week, 4.2 the fourth week, and 2.4 in the last five days.

This brings my total fat loss to 92 pounds.

Of course, it’s not all about the number on the scale, and I have experienced a TON of benefits from healthy eating and exercise other than simply fat loss since I started this whole process in late November 2011. I’ll get into those benefits in greater detail in future posts. But for now, I wanted to share the numbers, since many of you know that my current goal is to lose 100 pounds.

November2011

Nov. 15, 2011. Six days before I started going to the gym and paying attention to my nutrition.

Almost there.

I’ll be off the grid for the next few weeks, but I have a bunch of ideas for blog posts to write when I return, so stay tuned.

For now, I’ll leave you with this quote from the film The Curious Case of Benjamin Button:

“For what it’s worth: It’s never too late, or in my case, too early, to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit–stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it, and I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you’ve never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A short update

  1. Melodie says:

    Hey Aaron, I was going to talk to you at training last night, but didn’t get a chance. Just wanted to give you a big high five for your climb, very cool! That must have been amazing!

    Also I can’t tell you how your deep reason for losing the weight made me laugh! So true, but still made me laugh! All in a good way

    Good on you for changing your lifestyle and living a dream, its inspiring.
    Melodie Schellenberg (fellow Fukumotoer)

    • Thanks so much, Melodie. I’ll have to get that high five from you next time we train together!

      I’ll be sharing a little bit about the climb on this blog on Friday. It was definitely an amazing experience and I’m extremely thankful that it went as well as it did.

      Thanks for reading my blog–I appreciate it. I hope the rest of your recovery week goes well!

  2. George says:

    WOW, I have heard Johnny from the gym talking about you preparing for your climb, but even his enthusiasm about it doesn’t even being to describe how awesome you have done and how great that climb must have been. I was really touched by your story have lived what sounds like much the same teen age years to then watching the pounds climb on, your farther is a good man to have had that talk with you, it would have been hard. That experience is something that will be part of your family history forever. Thanks for sharing your story, I know it will cross my mind when I am at the gym working over the ropes.

    • You’re welcome, George. Climbing Kilimanjaro was definitely an awesome experience I will never forget. Thanks for reading and for commenting! Maybe I’ll see you around the warehouse some time. Better together!

  3. Pingback: 101 pounds | Aaron at Large

Leave a Reply

