No more half measures

BB02

Half measures, full problems: Bryan Cranston as Walter White.

Every Friday, I’m going to write about something that inspires me in my pursuit of health, whether it’s an article, book, podcast, song or person. Today, it’s a scene from the TV show Breaking Bad.

Breaking Bad is, with the possible exception of Friday Night Lights, my all-time favourite TV show.

The second half of Breaking Bad’s fifth and final season premiered three weeks ago, and I’m not sure what I’m going to do with myself when the series ends on Sept. 29.

Since the show debuted in 2008, I have been fascinated by the story of Walter White, a 50-year-old high school chemistry teacher who is diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. Believing he only has a short time left to live, Walter begins to cook and sell methamphetamine so that his family will have money and be provided for when he is dead.

The following four-minute clip is from the show’s third season. In the scene, Mike “the Cleaner” Ehrmantraut–the police officer-turned-private investigator, hit man and meth empire head of security–teaches Walter a lesson about commitment.

(This scene may not be for everyone, as it includes some NSFW language, as well as graphic descriptions of violence. You’ve been warned.)

I like this scene so much, I used ListenToYouTube.com to turn the audio into an mp3, and I added it to the playlist I listen to on my way to the gym.

It reminds me of a quote from former basketball player and coach Pat Riley:

“There are only two options regarding commitment. You’re either in or you’re out. There’s no such thing as life in-between.”

Whether it’s a fitness goal you’re working toward, a relationship you’re in, your job, or something else in your life, are you giving it your best?

For me, the above Breaking Bad scene is a reminder–albeit, a pitch-black one–that anything worth doing is worth doing all the way.

No more half measures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No more half measures

  1. Erika Marand says:

    I finally caught up with everything from you. Now I’m waiting for more…. So, so proud of you! Anybody who comes to see Oma these days always gets the printouts of your blog with “Have you seen this?” thrust at them.

  2. Pingback: The weird and wonderful ministry of Pete Holmes | Aaron at Large

Leave a Reply

